My best friend of 21 years came out to me and this is what I want to tell him.

I want to tell him that I’m happy but hurt for him because he chooses to hide who he really is in order to please those whose opinions aren’t important.  I want to tell him what essentially does matter are the people who make him the happiest.  I want to tell him that I accepted him for twenty one years before this and I will continue to accept him today, tomorrow, and forever. I want to tell him that this, whatever ‘this’ is, doesn’t hinder anything from us, if anything; this has made our relationship much more stronger than what it previously was. I want to tell him that he is amazing in all his grace and I am so proud to call him my best friend.

I want to tell him that this journey will take time and it will take strength but I will love him through it all.

Leave a Reply

