I Never Meant To Become ‘The Other Woman’

Thought Catalog

Flickr / JanineFlickr / Janine

This is never what I intended.

I remember first meeting you as a friend of my boyfriend’s. In an effort to make him happy (which is a story for another time), I resolved myself to become friends with all of his. It took some effort, except when it came to you. For some reason, while keeping your safe distance, you just seemed to get me better than most people.

When my boyfriend and I broke up, I assumed that you would have left with him along with all the other things we used to share. But you were still there. Always still as a friend, patiently encouraging me, trying to erase the negative words that he had covered me with over and over again, always willing to be there to listen.

I never could understand why you were so nice. You didn’t make any moves and as…

View original post 971 more words

Leave a Reply

