I had this dream a year ago and I wrote about it

It was a formal event we were attending, you were my date and I loved you.

I was wearing a beautiful nude maxi dress with a shimmer of glitter with my hair in a bun, accompanied with a pair of Steve Madden nude pump heels. You looked charming while you were wearing a grey Italian cut suit from TipTop’s. You were blown away when you first saw me; but when I saw you, my heart skipped a beat.

We were sitting at a table with strangers who didn’t give a care in the world about the presentation, but only gave attention to the wine they were drinking. It was quite amusing to watch. We, as well, were guilty to the lack of attention we were giving to the ceremony, as we were busy taking our sweet time at the photo booth and taking advantage of the dessert bar.

After the ceremony we owned the dance floor as if we were the champions of So You Think You Can Dance, but in reality we both have two left feet. The others must have thought we were foolish and crazy but I call it love.  As Olivia Newton-John’s “I Honestly Love You” came on, our bodies instantly became one; you didn’t mind me stepping on your feet, and I didn’t mind your tone deaf singing to the song. I truly believe that the song was written for us. I felt time froze just so this moment lasted longer for the both of us.

A little later I excused myself for the washroom, and that is when I saw him. I felt all emotions coming over me, my heart rate increasing, my anxiety kicking in and all the memories that was associated with him. It all came back in that instant. I was terrified of him and what this confrontation might lead to. I was afraid that he was going to hurt me again. I was scared but I reminded myself that I’ve found you. I will no longer hurt because of him.

Him and I were about to start our conversation when I saw you in the corner of my eye. Your reaction change instantly from the happy, goofy smile that you were known for to the angry and mad persona that only a few had witnessed in your lifetime. I walked towards you, pleading you to stay out of my mess. I begged you to leave it to me and that I would handle all this and that is when you looked at me differently. You looked at me with disappointment because I knew how much you wanted to fight for me. You looked at me with anger because of how much you wanted to hurt him because he hurt me. You looked at me with a soft kind of look in your eye because you knew I can handle myself. I have never felt so in love and supported by you then that moment.

I looked at him and left with you,  however, I know that it won’t be the last time I’ll see him. We didn’t return to the dance floor but went immediately to your car. You were upset, but I was still running with emotions. We didn’t talk the car ride home.

As soon as I got out of the car, I went into my house and straight to my room. I knew you followed me inside, but this time you let me cry, careful not to disturb me.

After half an hour, I go downstairs and find you cooking in my kitchen at 1:30 in the morning. There was a huge post it note signed from you, it read “If you ever need anything I’m here. I don’t know what you’re going through, but I will be here for you”. You started speaking lines of Edgar Allen Poe as I walked into the kitchen. I smiled, all I wanted then and there is your body comforting me. I slipped my hands around you, you turned around and our lips found our way to each other. I wanted to stay in this moment forever.

You made breakfast for the two of us, and yes we were still in our evening wear at almost 2:00AM. You continued to recite readings as if they were your piece of work, but nonetheless, you sounded wonderful. We ended up falling asleep on my couch while watching an old Audrey Hepburn movie that was playing on the television. I don’t know what the ending of the movie was, however, I believe that the ending of my night was much more romantic because it ended with me and my leading man more in love than before.

Leave a Reply

